Select Page


Opioid and Heroin Abuse Crisis Investment Act of 2016

Introduced on 5-12-16 by Ben Ray Lujan [D-NM-3] and referred to Energy and Commerce, Judiciary and Budget Committees. Cosponsored by Elijah Cummings [D-MD-7], Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA-40], Joseph Kennedy [D-MA-4], Derek Klimer [D-WA-6], Ann Kuster [D-NH-2], Alcee Hastings [D-FL-20], Grace Napolitano [D-CA-32], Paul Tonko [D-NY-20], Doris Matsui [D-CA-6], Richard Neal [D-MA-1], Alan Grayson [D-FL-9], Eleanor Norton [D-DC-At Large], William Keating [D-MA-9], Michelle Lujan Grisham [D-NM-1], Earl Blumenauer [D-OR-3], Sander Levin [D-MI-9], Wm. Lacy Clay [D-MO-1], Rick Larsen [D-WA-2], Donna Edwards [D-MD-4], Marcy Kaptur [D-OH-9], Sheila Jackson Lee [D-TX-18], Lois Capps [D-CA-24], Stephen Lynch [D-MA-8], Donald Norcross [D-NJ-1], Brenda Lawrence [D-MI-14], Gregory Meeks [D-NY-5], Sean Patrick Maloney [D-NY-18], Jackie Speier [D-CA-14], Mike Quigley [D-IL-5], Luis Gutierrez [D-IL-4], Peter Welch [D-VT-At Large], Dutch Ruppersberger [D-MD-2], Gerald Connolhy [D-VA-11], James McGovern [D-MA-2], David Loebsack [D-IA-2], John Sarbanes [D-MD-3], Corrine Brown [D-FL-5], Debbie Dingell [D-MI-12], Ron Kind [D-WI-3], Steve Israel [D-NY-3], Bill Pascrell [D-NJ-9], Ruben Gallego [D-AZ-7], Michael Capuano [D-MA-7], Joe Courtney [D-CT-2], Donald Beyer [D-VA-8], Bennie Thompson [D-MS-2], Hakeem Jeffries [D-NY-8], John Yarmuth [D-KY-3], Tony Cardenas [D-CA-29], Albio Sires [D-NJ-8], Daniel Kildee [D-MI-5], Anna Eshoo [D-CA-18], Gene Green [D-TX-29], Juan Vargas [D-CA-51], Karen Bass [D-CA-37], Yvette Clarke [D-NY-9], Chris Van Hollen [D-MD-8], Katherine Clark [D-MA-5], Steve Cohen [D-TN-9], Niki Tsongas [D-MA-3], Marcia Fudge [D-OH-11], Pete Aguilar [D-CA-31], Ted Lieu [D-CA-33], Cedric Richmond [D-LA-2], Eric Swalwell [D-CA-15], John Lewis [D-GA-5], Denny Heck [D-WA-10], Betty McCollum [D-MN-4], Tammy Duckworth [D-IL-8], Hank Johnson [D-GA-4], Tim Ryan [D-OH-13], John Delaney [D-MD-6], Elizabeth Esty [D-CT-5], John Conyers [D-MI-13], Peter DeFazio [D-OR-4], Al Green [D-TX-9], John Larson [D-CT-1], G.K. Butterfield [D-NC-1], Danny Davis [D-IL-7], Stacey Plaskett [D-VI-At Large], Barbara Lee [D-CA-13], Loretta Sanchez [D-CA-46], Brendan Boyle [D-PA-13], Raul Ruiz [D-CA-36], Dina Titus [D-NV-1], Julia Brownley [D-CA-26], Seth Moulton [D-MA-6], Rosa DeLauro [D-CT-3], Michael Honda [D-CA-17], and Collin Peterson [D-MN-7].

Purpose: To provide funding for opioid and heroin abuse prevention and treatment.

SEC. 2. Funding for opioid and heroin abuse prevention and treatment.

(a) Funding.—authorized to be appropriated $1,164,600,000 for 2017 and 2018, to improve opioid prescribing practices, expand access to substance use treatment and reduce opioid use disorders and overdose.

(b) State targeted response cooperative agreements to expand opioid treatment capacity and make services more affordable to those who cannot afford such services and to help individuals seek treatment, successfully complete treatment, and sustain recovery.

The Secretary shall allocate funding to States based on the severity of the opioid epidemic in the State; and the strength of the strategy of the State to respond to such epidemic. $465,000,000 is available to carry out this section for each year 2017 and 2018.

(c) Treatment for prescription drug abuse and heroin use.—provides loan repayment awards to increase the number of clinicians in the Corps with medication-assisted treatment training to treat individuals with opioid use disorders. $25,000,000 is available for each year 2017 and 2018.

(d) Evaluation of short-, medium-, and long-term outcomes of medication-assisted treatment in order to increase effectiveness in reducing opioid use disorders, overdose, and death. $15,000,000 for each year 2017 and 2018.

(e) Medication-Assisted treatment for prescription drug and opioid addiction.—awards grants to States to expand or enhance medication-assisted in combination with psychosocial services, recovery support services, and coordination with HIV or hepatitis C direct services. $50,100,000 for fiscal year 2017.

(f) Dissemination of guidelines by the CDC director to improve opioid prescribing practices to reduce opioid use disorders and overdose. Establish training modules in partnership with professional societies and health systems, including online modules available for continuing medical education credits and maintenance of certification; and coordinate with Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology to ensure that guidelines developed are effectively disseminated and translated into clinical support tools for integration into clinical workflow. $10,000,000 for fiscal year 2017.

(g) Rural opioid overdose reversal grant program.—grants to rural entities to implement activities for the prevention, intervention, and treatment of opioid misuse and overdose to provide opioid misuse education and prevention services; training to licensed health care professionals and first responders in the recognition of the signs of opioid overdose and learn the appropriate way to administer naloxone; followup treatment. $10,000,000 for fiscal year 2017.

(h) Prescription drug overdose initiative.—to expand prescription drug monitoring programs and health information technology interoperability. $5,000,000 for fiscal year 2017.

(i) Bureau of Prisons treatment programs.— to support drug treatment programs within the Bureau of Prisons, including expanding the medication-assisted treatment pilot. $3,000,000 for fiscal year 2017.

(j) Second Chance Act of 2007 is amended to carry out activities to reduce recidivism and increase public safety by helping justice-involved individuals successfully reintegrate into the community, including by carrying out activities including providing treatment for co-occurring disorders and providing family-based substance abuse treatment. $50,000,000 for fiscal year 2017.

(k) Residential substance abuse treatment.—provide support for State and local governments developing residential and aftercare services for substance-involved inmates. $14,000,000 is for fiscal year 2017.

(l) Heroin enforcement groups.—the Attorney General shall establish new heroin enforcement groups to target, disrupt, and dismantle heroin trafficking organizations. $12,500,000 for fiscal year 2017.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *