Select Page


Breaking Addiction Act of 2015

Introduced on 4-23-15 by Marcia Fudge [D-OH-11] and referred to the Energy and Commerce Committee, then referred to the Subcommittee on Health. Cosponsored by Tim Ryan [D-OH-13], Marcy Kaptur [D-OH-9], Alcee Hastings [D-FL-20], David Cicilline [D-RI-I], Elijah Cummings [D-MD-7], Matt Cartwright [D-PA-17], Michael Turner [R-OH-10], Steve Stivers [R-OH-15], David Joyce [R-OH-14], Joyce Beatty [D-OH-3], and Hank Johnson [D-GA-4].

This bill directs the Secretary of Health and Human Services to provide for waiver of the IMD limitation on medical assistance to certain patients in an institution for mental diseases in order to permit medical assistance under title XIX (Medicaid) of the Social Security Act for the treatment of a substance use condition for a qualified individual in a community-based institution for mental diseases.

The term “IMD limitation” means the limitation under the subdivision (B) following paragraph (29) of section 1905(a) of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 1396d(a)) on medical assistance furnished to certain patients in an institution for mental diseases.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *